M.S.K.

So this post is not like the others I have posted – it’s a bit more personal.

Some know but many don’t that I have a rarer form of kidney disease that most have never heard of, it’s called Medullary Sponge Kidney. I was officially diagnosed July of 2016. Pretty much my kidneys look like a sponge.. (hence the name) but that’s not even the fun part; I constantly produce kidney stones and are prone to UTI’s because of the stones. I even had surgery on both kidney’s in August and October to clear out all the stones in both (200 in each.. I am an over achiever lol).

I passed a few stones last week so my urologist wanted me to get an ultrasound of my kidneys to see if more stones regenerated.. Well, yesterday was the day and sure enough she saw stones just chilling in there. I researched MSK and had the surgeries and all of that but it wasn’t until I saw stones coming back after I made the following changes:

  • Cleared out both kidneys.
  • Changed my diet to a Low Oxalate, Low Sodium and Low Protien (the low protein I am struggling with).
  • Taking Daily Medication
  • Incorporating Lemon in my Daily Diet.

I thought it would take longer than 6 months for my kidney’s to regenerate stones but I suppose I was mistaken. I guess it just hit me on the ride home from the ultrasound that this is going to be a constant battle & that really bummed me out. There really isn’t much else to say other than getting this off of my chest. I feel like it’s a serious illness that is not commonly known or discussed and I feel the world needs to know more about it.

For more information on this illness, please visit  Medullary Sponge Kidney Information .

Sorry this post was more of a downer.. We all have our days. I will be more cheerful the next time, I promise! ❤

msk

Leave a Reply

